Books & Cocktails are the Magic Combination

A few weeks ago I was hanging out with my friend David and we were talking about books and what we were reading. Suddenly a little light bulb went off in his head and he looked at me and was like, “We should totally start a book club!” I, of course, agreed that that would be a fabulous idea and moved on, not thinking that much would come of it. You see, I often have ideas like, “Let’s join a kickball league!” or, “We should really take some ballroom dancing lessons.” and even, “I heard that in Florida they have a Cowboy Resort! We should do that and learn how to lasso things while drinking whiskey!” Needless to say, I sometimes lack follow through. Lucky for me, David does not!

Which brings us to about two weeks after our story started. I got a phone call from David that went something like, “So Parker’s on Ponce is letting us use one of their rooms for our book club. There will be half priced bottles of wine and I am going to make theme cocktails for every book! So what are we going to read?” And that is when I realized that we were in fact starting a book club and that I was going to be half responsible for it. We picked out books, teamed up with a local indy bookstore, Little Shop of Stories, and the rest is history, so to speak.

On Monday we had our very first meeting to discuss Madeleine L’Engle’s A Wrinkle in Time. AND PEOPLE SHOWED UP! Not just people that I know and thus they felt obligated to show up so that I wasn’t just sitting at the bar by myself, but actual strangers that just wanted to drink wine and talk about books. Which is exactly what we did.

David’s drink was much prettier. This is a random photo from the internet, but you can at least the the general idea!

To go with our book talk, David made a delicious drink that he named The Tesseract, in honor of the book. Those of you that need a reminder, a tesseract is basically like a 5th dimension that is kind of like folding the fabric of space and time and it allows you to move great distances and times in an instant. Along with time and space travel, the novel has strong themes of the battle between light and dark, good and evil. Playing off of these concepts, The Tesseract drink is a dark blue at the bottom and clear at the top, showing a distinct difference light and dark and space. David said that it was how he pictures the 5th dimension to look. I was not thinking ahead and failed to take a photo of the beautiful (and delicious) drink, but below is the recipe!

  • 1.5 oz Vodka
  • .5 oz Triple Sec
  • A Splash of Sprite
  • A Bar Spoonful of Cranberry Juice
  • Shake well and strain to pour
  • After pouring, drizzle with Blue Curacao

For those of you that would like to participate virtually with us, we will be reading Rebecca Stead’s When You Reach Me for September 10 in Decatur, and will be discussing it on the blog that week. We will have a new book themed drink to share with y’all and encourage you to come up with your own! We would love to hear your thoughts on the book as well as your cocktail ideas! You can also join in the discussion at our YA for Wine Lovers Facebook Page.

About SwordMistressofMeleeIsland

I am a pirate princess and Governor of Melee Island. I live a quiet life of looting and pillaging with my plunder bunny, Guybrush Threepwood. (I also enjoy reading. A lot. Any book will do.) View all posts by SwordMistressofMeleeIsland

One response to “Books & Cocktails are the Magic Combination

Leave a Reply

