Top 10 Books I Found at BEA

Over a week (or 2?) later and I am STILL recovering from BEA. As always, it was amazing couple of days and I am still sorting through everything. That being said, I do have a few titles that have stood out for me that I am pretty excited about, so without further ado, here is my list of BEA books I can’t wait to read.

  1. Jepp, Who Defied the Stars by Katherine Marsh (Hyperion, October 2012) – The first book on my list, I actually had the chance to read last week and I was so glad I did. This was the first book I picked up, and it was completely on a whim. This is a historical fiction YA that takes place in the late 1500’s and follows the life of a dwarf named Jepp who ends up as a court dwarf at Coudenberg Palace and it throws his world into turmoil. From meeting other dwarfs for the first time, being forced to jump out of pies and crossing paths with nobles, princesses and even Tycho Brahe himself (not this Tycho, this one!), Jepp learns to defy the stars and take his destiny into his own hands. Honestly, this was just a well told story that made me hit the books to learn more. Read it!
  2. The Cupcake Diaries by Katherine Kallinis and Sophie Kallinis LaMontagne (HarperOne, 2011) – I have to admit, before I picked up this book, I had never heard of DC Cupcakes. I picked it up because not only do I love cupcakes and thought a cupcake book would be fun, but they were giving away FREE cupcakes with the book. Ladies and Gentlemen, I have to tell you that it was the most amazing cupcake I have ever put in my mouth and it has made me go on a cupcake crusade. Part memoir, part cookbook, this book is awesome, and not just because the one recipe I have tried so far was not only easy to follow and gave great baking tips, but the cupcakes turned out delicious. If you love cupcakes, baking, or have taken the plunge and started your own business, then you will enjoy this book.
  3. The High-Skies Adventures of Blue Jay the Pirate by Scott Nash (Candlewick, September 2012) – I LOVE pirates and this book just seems really fun. The back copy states that “…between outwitting villainous crows and outrunning murderous weasels, it’s all Blue Jay and the rest of the crew can do to stay together and stay alive.” The ink illustrations bring to life Blue Jay and his crew in all of their pirate glory. The final book will be in color, so I am looking forward to seeing everything finished! This looks like a great pick for the young swashbucklers in your life!
  4. Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schlitz (Candlewick, August, 2012) – Another Candlewick book. It is safe to say that I LOVE this publishing house and the beautiful books they make. Splendors and Glooms is about Master puppeteer Grisini, two children, Lizzie and Parsefall, and Clara, a local rich girl (who hired Grisini to entertain at her birthday party and goes missing). As you might suspect, the blame is cast upon Grisini and by extension, Lissie and Parsefall. Enter an old rivalry and a witch with a deadly inheritance and a great mystery is born. This was a book that the employees at the Candlewick booth said they were really excited about and not to miss it!
  5. The Killing Moon by N.K. Jemisin (Orbit, 2012) – This is the first book of the Dreamblood series. Since I am not sure how to explain it, here is a look at the back copy. I haven’t read it yet, but it sounded pretty interesting. In the ancient city-state of Gujaareh, peace is the only law. Upon its rooftops and among the shadows of it’s cobbled streets wait the Gatherers–the keepers of this peace. Their duty is to harvest the magic of the sleeping mind and use it to heal, soothe… and kill those judged corrupt.”
    It sounds just crazy enough to be awesome and I can’t wait to get to it!
  6. Blood, Bones & Butter: The Inadvertent Education of a Reluctant Chef by Gabrielle Hamilton (Random House, 2011) – This book has been out for a while, but when I picked it up and read what it was about, it seemed right up my alley (not to mention the great cover!). I am a big fan of food and memoirs. Throw them together and I am a happy camper. This book is a look at Gabrielle’s life and how she ended up opening her acclaimed New York restaurant, Prune. If food is your thing, then this is your book.
  7. Beta by Rachel Cohn (Hyperion, October 2012), “Elysia is created in a laboratory, born as a sixteen-year-old girl, an empty vessel with no life experience to draw from. She is a Beta, an experimental model of a teenage clone. She was replicated from another teenage girl, who had to die in order for Elysia to exist. Elysia’s purpose is to serve the inhabitants of Demesne, an island paradise for the wealthiest people on earth.” Need I say more? This is the first in a series, so I have high hopes that this is as exciting as it sounds. I know that cloning isn’t a new thing in science fictions, but maybe Beta will give it a new twist that lets it stand on its own. Hyperion doesn’t usually let me down!
  8. Colin Fischer by Ashley Edward Miller & Zack Stentz (Razorbill, November 2012) – Razorbill is an imprint of Penguin and this is one of their upcoming middle reader books. I am really looking forward to reading this one with my little brother. “Colin is Wayne Connelley’s best-and only-hope of proving his innocence after being accused of blowing up a birthday cake in the school cafeteria.” I love a good mystery, especially one that involves cake and quirky Sherlock Holmes types (“Colin cannot stand to be touched. He does not like the color blue. He needs index cards to recognize facial expressions.“)
  9. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken (Hyperion, December 2012) – This book just sounds dark and creepy, which can be incredibly exciting. Here is what I learned from the back of the book: When Ruby woke up on her tenth birthday, something about her had changed. Something frightening enough to make her parents lock her in the garage and call the police. Something that gets her sent to Thurmond, a brutal government ‘rehabilitation camp.’ She might have survived the mysterious disease that’s killed most of America’s children, but she and the others have emerged with something far worse: frightening abilities they can’t control.” The book seems to follow into her teen years when she eventually escapes Thurmond and ends up on the run. I really need to know what this “something” is and what is so dangerous. I am saving this one to read when I am in the mood for a good scare!
  10. Princess Academy: Palace of Stone by Shannon Hale (Bloomsbury, August 2012) – So I picked this up having not read the first Princess Academy book. Of course I went out and bought the first one and I am in the middle of reading it with with my little sister. It is SO fun. I haven’t read the back of this one yet, because I don’t want any spoilers, but I have a feeling that Hale will not disappoint me.

There are a lot more books, but these are my top 10. Keep checking back for reviews and giveaways! We have some great books to share from BEA!

About SwordMistressofMeleeIsland

I am a pirate princess and Governor of Melee Island. I live a quiet life of looting and pillaging with my plunder bunny, Guybrush Threepwood. (I also enjoy reading. A lot. Any book will do.) View all posts by SwordMistressofMeleeIsland

3 responses to “Top 10 Books I Found at BEA

Leave a Reply

