Blog Tour: Until Next Time

I must say that I was beyond excited to be able to participate in the blog tour for Until Next Time by Amy Lignor (Tribute Books, January 2012). For one, it is our first blog tour here on Rampant Reads, and second, the book just sounded fun and I was really needing something fantastic to pick up after finishing Daughter of Smoke and Bone.

“How does a girl choose between the one who steals her heart and the one who owns her soul?

Matt and Emily were created for a specific job. Raised and trained as the ultimate angel/warrior team, they are sent down to save, defend, judge and forgive, depending on the ‘life’ they’ve been assigned. What they don’t realize is that the power of human emotions, such as love, anger, passion and fear can take over even the best of souls, causing them to make mistakes and follow paths that lead to confusion and heartache.”

Let me just start by saying that so much about this book surprised me. For starters, the book could have easily gone the way of “super-cheesy love triangle,” but didn’t. Emily is clearly struggling with her human and angelic emotions (which are two very different things). She knows that Matt is her soul mate, but she can’t ignore the love that she has found on Earth. This is compounded by the fact that when they are sent to Earth, they have no memory of their angelic lives, but when they leave Earth, they remember everything about the lives they lived there as Liz and Daniel. How can Matt blame her for something she can’t help? Something she has no control over? They were trained as an Angel/Warrior team, but trying to understand human emotions theoretically and experiencing them first hand on Earth would cause a lot of confusion for any teenager.

The book starts out with Emily and Matt with the Angels, finishing their training. They are young and ready to take on the world, so to speak. The humans whose bodies they are taking over (I promise this is not a zombie undead taking over body thing!) are people whose souls have left their body, even though they still have important things to do in the world. Matt and Emily need to finish that for them and while down there, they are to experience humanity and help the Angels to understand human emotion. This knowledge, ideally, can save the world from bad things to come and help the Angels find a way to give faith back to humanity. No pressure or anything.

The cherry on top is that they are not sent to a modern world, like I initially thought would happen. Nope. They wake up in 1810 in Ireland. Surprised? I was too. It was a satisfying twist early on and honestly, Amy Lignor is a great writer. I was hooked from the prologue and ready to go wherever she took me, from murder to redemption, I was there. At the beginning, I found I had to remind myself that Emily and Liz and Matt and Daniel were the same characters, but the book fell into a nice rhythm and this was quickly not an issue anymore.

Overall, this book was so fun to read and I am glad that I had the opportunity to! (Thanks, Tribute Books!) Now I just have to anxiously await the next book in the series.

What’s that you say? You would like to read it too? Well I have everything you need! Check it out and let me know your thoughts!

Kindle Buy Link

Nook Buy Link

Smashwords Buy Link

PDF Buy Link

For the rest of the Blog Tour schedule, go HERE.

About SwordMistressofMeleeIsland

I am a pirate princess and Governor of Melee Island. I live a quiet life of looting and pillaging with my plunder bunny, Guybrush Threepwood. (I also enjoy reading. A lot. Any book will do.) View all posts by SwordMistressofMeleeIsland

7 responses to “Blog Tour: Until Next Time

  • Tribute Books

    Erin, I’m delighted that you were a part of this tour and that you thoroughly enjoyed the book. I’m glad that you felt that Amy got the emotions just right in terms of the love triangle – that means a lot. And now that you’re caught up in the saga of Matt and Emily, please stay tuned for more.

  • Scott J. Clemons

    I don’t know what it is but for some reason I’ve been hesitant to pick up a book about angels. After reading your review I think I might be a bit more open to it.

    When you say they’re “warriors” does that mean they’re going down to Earth to duke it out with some evil-doers? I keep thinking of the angels in the show/manga/novel series Supernatural and how they posses the bodies of the willing to fight off demons. Is it sort of like that? Or are they trying to straighten out things in the lives of the people they posses?

    • SwordMistressofMeleeIsland

      It is a bit different than that because they don’t remember their angelic lives, just their human ones, when they are on Earth. They are trained, but what they take with them is their innate abilities, as they don’t remember specific training. They are paired together so that Emily has certain powers and it is Matt’s job as the warrior to protect her. They also get to choose what they want to be, so they choose whether or not to be a warrior. It’s an interesting concept that could easily be super cheesy, which is what I find with most fantasy. If done well, it is believable, it done poorly, it is just ridiculous.

  • Until Next Time!

    Erin, I want to thank you so much for your review, your compliments, and for allowing the angel/warrior team a place on your site. I really did try to make sure that nothing in my writing is cliche (I completely agree about the cheesy ones – I get tired of them really quickly :)) So I am honored to be on the ‘other side of that rainbow’ – Again, thank you SO much for taking the time to read and love Matt & Emily. I hope I can intrigue you more with the upcoming titles.

  • Until Next Time!

    Erin, thank you so much for having the angel/warrior team on your site. I am so honored by your compliments and your words. I know exactly how you feel about ‘cheesy’ so I’m very happy I ended up on the other side of that rainbow LOL. I never want to be a cliche. I am so happy Emily and Matt found a place in your heart, and I hope to keep intriguing you with the rest of the series!

  • ddos vps

    Appreciate this post. Will try it out.|

Leave a Reply

