2012 – A Lot to Be Excited About

Let's hope the Mayans were wrong.

It’s the time of year for lists. Many many lists. Magazines, newspapers, blogs, toilet paper companies, all of ’em are doing their Best of 2011 lists. While I would love to know what the 5 Softest Toilet Papers of 2011 were, we thought it would be more interesting to look ahead to 2012 and talk about the books to be published that we are excited about reading. So, barring that end of the world thing that the Mayans predicted, here are a few books that each Rampant Reads lady can’t wait to get her greedy mitts on.

(NOTE: Rhymenocerous just had to go off to Russia while we wrote this post, so her picks aren’t in this list. Let’s all just be jealous and have a vodka shot in her honor.)


Anatasia Beaverhausen:

The Fault in our Stars by John Green (Jan. 10)

I don’t have to wait long for this one and THANK GOODNESS. They released the first 2 chapters online (you can read them online here) and I am already hooked. The premise sounds a bit grim – girl with terminal cancer finds love – but John’s writing and superb characters will change your expectations and make this not to miss. Plus, he signed EVERY SINGLE PRE-ORDERED COPY, god bless him.

Black Heart by Holly Black (Apr. 3)

Holly is one of my favorite YA authors, as evidenced by my treasured signed copy of Tithe in my intro post. This is the 3rd book in her superb “Curse Workers” series and I can’t wait to see where she takes it.

The Doors of Stone (The Kingkiller Chronicles Day 3) by Patrick Rothfuss (Date ?)

Rothbuss exploded onto the fantasy scene with the first book in this series, The Name of the Wind, in 2009, and his brilliant writing and playing with fantasy tropes made it an instant hit with fantasy fans. I think even folks who aren’t fantasy people would eat this series up. Each book takes place over one day and I am DYING to finish this up. GIVE ME A RELEASE DATE!!

For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfrend (June 12)

A new book from the author we named our blog after? Yes, please! This book isn’t in her fantastic killer unicorn series, but a whole new idea that sounds incredibly intriguing. And it was inspired by Persuasion – I love a good homage.

Princess Consuela:

A Midsummer Tights Dream by Louise Rennison (June 26)

She is a treasure. I can’t wait to see what antics Tallulah and the rest of the girls of Dother Hall come up with next. Hopefully my beloved Georgia Nicolson will make a little cameo.

 The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch. (British edition tentatively scheduled for June. There is no telling when the American edition will pub, and I may have to order one from the Brits. The author had some personal issues and he got behind, and pub date after pub date has passed. Hope springs eternal, though, and I get excited every time a new date appears.)

This is the third book in the Locke Lamora series, and I have been waiting for YEARS. Seriously, Scott, I MUST KNOW WHAT HAPPENS TO LOCKE AND JEAN. For the uninitiated among you, they are the greatest con artists of ever, and they call themselves the Gentlemen Bastards. Jean walks around with two hatchets strapped to his back that he has lovingly dubbed The Wicked Sisters. What’s not to love?? Go get The Lies of Locke Lamora now so you’ll be ready when this one finally arrives.

The Garden Intrigue by Lauren Willig (February 16)

The latest Pink Carnation romp of Regency spies.  I can’t wait.  I will probably fight traffic all across town to go meet her when she’s here for her prepub party.  Also because I love a signed book.  I will unabashedly bring my entire collection for her John Hancock.

Broken Harbor by Tana French (July 24)

I haven’t even read her third book , and I am already excited about the fourth. She’s such a good writer that I am including this even though I have no idea what it is about.  How’s that for faith?

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson (April 17)

Anastasia Beaverhausen introduced me to The Bloggess not too long ago with a post about how she wore a wolf pelt to see Breaking Dawn.  And then there was a story about the giant upcycled metal chicken named Beyonce.  If there is an entire book that will make me laugh that hard, I am on board.

Robin Sparkles:

A Midsummer Tights Dream by Louise Rennison (June 26)

Like PC, I cannot wait for the next installment from one of my favorite authors, Louise Rennison (read more about our love here).

Drop Dead Healthy: One Man’s Humble Quest for Bodily Perfection by A.J. Jacobs (April 10)

If you haven’t read anything by A.J. Jacobs, you need to fix that. Of all the people out there doing the “immersion journalism” books (and I have quite a few on my bookshelf), he’s one of my favorites. I can’t wait to join him for his latest experiment!

Blogger books

There are several coming out next year that I’m anxious to read (i.e. the Jenny Lawson book mentioned above), but the one I’m most excited for is the yet to be titled book by John and Sherry Petersik of Young House Love. Oh yeah, did I mention I’m that kind of nerd? DIY book? Heck yeah!

Born Wicked: The Cahill Witch Chronicles (Book 1) by Jessica Spotswood (February 7)

This is completely out of left field, but when I was looking for books coming out in 2012, this one kept popping up. I know NOTHING about it, other than the description on Amazon, but I’m so intrigued. It’s YA fantasy about secret teen witches! They have to decide between marriage and joining the witch Sisterhood! There are crazy priests out to get them! And it’s book one in a series. I love a good series. So I’m excited about this because of the possibility… it could be awesome, it could be awful, who knows?? But I’m eager to find out, and report back here!

Captain Awesome:

Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen (February 14)

This version of the Robin Hood story reimagines Will Scarlet as a GIRL disguised as a BOY in Robin’s gang in order to escape the evil clutches of Lord Gisbourne. I LOVE thief stories, particularly Robin Hood type thief stories, and girls hiding out as boys stories, so this book sounds right up my alley.

Out of Sight, Out of Time by Ally Carter (March 13)

In the penultimate book in the Gallagher Girls series, Cammie Morgan wakes up in an alpine convent with bruises on her body and no memory of the last few months.  Cammie and her friends have to use their skills acquired at spy school to piece together what happened on her lost summer vacation all while trying to avoid the evil clutches of the Circle of Cavan.  AMNESIA STORY!  I grew up watching soaps, so this is a well-loved story trope for me.  And I’m excited that Ally Carter will be posting short stories from the points of views of Bex, Liz, Macy, and Zach to the brand new Gallagher Girls website in the weeks leading up to publication.  Yay, bonus material!

Book Two in the Shades of London series by Maureen Johnson (October)

I don’t believe there’s a description or pub date available yet, but this is the sequel to the excellent Name of the Star. I can’t wait for more Secret Ghost Police!

The Sword Mistress of Melee Island:

I’m jumping on the bandwagon a tad late here, but that just means that I get the last word. So, without further ado…

The Sisters Grimm: Book Nine: The Council of Mirrors by Michael Buckley (May 8)

Anyone that knows me, knows that I am obsessed with these books. I read them all in about a minute and suggest that every 10 year old out there should check them out. I’ve been waiting for what seems my whole life for the 9th (and LAST) book in this series. It is brought to you by Amulet Books, which is a imprint of ABRAMS (who happen to be one of my absolute favorite publishers). I don’t want to give too much away for those that have not read the series yet, but let me just mention that the Fairy people are in an ALL OUT WAR and shit is getting real.

A Hero for WondLa by Tony DiTerlizzi (May 8)

A Hero for WondLa picks up where The Search for WondLa left off… as in AT A MAJOR CLIFF HANGER (that I won’t tell you about here, because you really need to read the book… and my review of it.) I’m not entirely sure what DiTerlizzi has in store for the next installment of this series, but if you follow him on Facebook he will relentlessly tease you with cool illustrations for the upcoming book. Thanks, Simon & Schuster, for publishing a great series, just stop making me wait so long.

One response to “2012 – A Lot to Be Excited About

Leave a Reply

