Mermaids: The Vampires of the Sea

So, we’ve been talking about the influx of mermaid YA lately, and I’ve been meaning to read a collection of it for your benefit.  However, at the moment the only mermaid book I have is Forgive My Fins (yes, I can giddily report that is REALLY THE TITLE).

I’d read quite a few YA mermaid recommendations before I picked this one up at a reading association show, and I apparently had it confused in my head with something else.  This to be precise.  Where a girl gets ‘assaulted’ and dumped in the ocean, only to discover she’s a mermaid.  Like you do.  Anyway, so I’m reading Forgive My Fins, and I keep waiting on the girl to get raped and thrown off a cliff.  And it never happens.  And I don’t care if it makes me sound like a callous neanderthal–I was disappointed.

In fact, the main character, Lily, is so saccharine and obnoxious, that I think a little beating and cliff-dumping might do her good.  Her sea-inspired slang would even get on Ariel’s nerves.

So, to sum up:  Lily is the princess of Thalassinia, the kingdom under the sea, but she’s staying with her aunt so she can attend a normal high school like her mother (a human) did.  She can transform into a mermaid in the water, and she has a crush on Brody, the champion of the swim team at her school.  Unfortunately for her, ‘bad boy’ Quince, her leather jacket wearing, motorcycle riding neighbor, is always picking on her (her idea, as it is glaringly obvious that he is supposed to be flirting with her).  Princesses have to match up with a mate before their 18th birthday if they want to rule the kingdom.  Apparently mermaids are super-prudes, because all that it takes to solidify your match is a kiss.  Surprisingly, Lily accidently kisses Quince instead of Brody, and now she is stuck with him for life, unless her father will break the bond for them.  So she has to take Quince to her secret underworld kingdom, convince her father she’s not into him, and have their bond nullified.  Once the bond is broken though, she can never bond with him again.  This *maybe* is foreshadowing the fact that she will fall for him despite her initial dislike!  WHO KNOWS IT IS SO MYSTERIOUS.

If you can’t tell by my run-on sentence recap, I am not going to recommend this book to anyone.  In this case, I feel like the book is simply trying to capitalize on the popularity that vampires, werewolves, and witches have had by picking any random mythological humanish character.  The story is overly simple, you can see the outcome of events miles away, and all the characters are mind-numbingly dull and annoying.

Don’t think that I’ve given up on all mermaids though.  I still want to find out if Luce get’s pressured into committing mass murder.

About rhymenocerous

rhymenocerous combines a fondness for hip hop with her love of the serengeti. Her soft spot for kids in space is eclipsed only by her passion for time-travelling children. She eats too much cake and frequently pretends her dachshund speaks French. View all posts by rhymenocerous

One response to “Mermaids: The Vampires of the Sea

Leave a Reply

