Braaaaaaaaains?

I am about to read a book about zombies. Now, those who know me well will say, “But Anastasia, you hate zombies! Didn’t you use to have a series of recurring nightmares about zombies? They replaced the velociraptors as the star.” And to them I say, yes, yes I did. And that velociraptors are still terrifying and we should all be on alert.

Zombies and I do not have a happy history. Their shambling, brain-needing, mindless violence triggers some deep-seated fears in me. I have no idea when it started, but its effects are ongoing. I’m probably one of the only people who cried during Shaun of the Dead. I adored all the authors who contributed stories to the fantastic Zombies vs. Unicorns, but even Maureen Johnson couldn’t keep me from freaking out after reading her story. (There are zombie children. HORRORS.)

(Sad note: you know how we try to have pictures in all our posts? I was gonna put a picture of a zombie on here and I CHICKENED OUT. I didn’t want to do that Google Image search. I know, I’m pathetic.)

So when my friend Patty suggested I read Feed by Mira Grant, I was highly skeptical. For lo, there are zombies. But her assurances that she, too, is not a zombie fan and she is successfully enjoying the book and not wigging out convinced me. So I have it loaded on my Kindle and I’m ready to go.

Gentle readers, what tropes/character types/genres do you Not Read? Zombies? Vampires? Amish romances?And what can persuade you to break your rules?

10 responses to “Braaaaaaaaains?

Leave a Reply

