Great. Now I Have to Learn German.

Thanks a lot Captain Awesome.  But I think you really can’t have too many posts about time-traveling children.

First off, time-traveling children are like crack to me.  Or more accurately, like those tiny chocolate cupcakes with sprinkles from the Publix bakery which are REALLY like crack to me (perfect cake to icing ratio!).  Madeline L’Engle.  Done.  The Indian in the Cupboard.  Umm yes please.  Chronicles of Narnia, Harry Potter, The Golden Compass, The Castle in the Attic—which is technically not time travel, but kind of—and I couldn’t remember the title so I literally googled “children’s book castle rats magic” and immediately found it if that tells you anything. 

Princess Consuela was the first to tell me about Ruby Red, months before its release date, and for that I am eternally grateful.  Here’s the description that Amazon so helpfully released (that left me panting in anticipation):

Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!

Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon–the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.

Let me break it down for you:  there is a) time-travel b) a reluctant love connection and c) it’s set in London so there will be words like ‘snogging’ and ‘lorry’ thrown about with wild abandon!  The only thing that could possibly make this book better is if Gwyneth is an orphan (please be an orphan!).

Well I’m happy to say that Gwyneth and her pals lived up to my ridiculously high expectations.  My only complaint is that the book seems to barely get started before it’s over.  In fact, I feel like I read that book in point two seconds, and then was all “drats!  Where’s the sequel?!!”  Which (pro) does exist but (con) is only in German.  And I can’t find the release date for the English one anywhere so I don’t even have a day that I can count down to!  So my advice is: don’t read this book until they’ve released all three in English.  Unless you speak German–in which case please contact me I’m sure we can work something out.

About rhymenocerous

rhymenocerous combines a fondness for hip hop with her love of the serengeti. Her soft spot for kids in space is eclipsed only by her passion for time-travelling children. She eats too much cake and frequently pretends her dachshund speaks French. View all posts by rhymenocerous

One response to “Great. Now I Have to Learn German.

  • welcome to our wonderland

    I spent the first 4.5 years of my life in germany I can still read some not so sure about a whole book. I’m more of a French girl. I learned how to speak: English, French and German all at the same time. crazy life growing up in the military.

    this book looks really interesting hope they release all in english soon.

    gidgetnfroggi (twitter)

Leave a Reply

