And rounding the corner in 5th…

Hola! I’m Robin Sparkles. I like bedazzled jackets, robots, and long walks on the beach with Alan Thicke. Oh… wait. That’s the OTHER Robin Sparkles. I’m here because I like books!

Yes, I’m your fifth blogger, and I’ll be going by Robin here on Rampant Reads. (In case you haven’t sensed our theme yet, we’ve all taken on the aliases/nicknames/secret identities of fictitious television characters. It amused us. But then again, we’re easily amused.) I also have the distinction of being the only blogger who does not now nor has ever worked in publishing. I do have a degree in literature/communications and spent a summer in college manning the front desk of my hometown’s library, but that is the extent of my professional involvement in the book industry. However, my personal involvement spans back to when I was just a kid who always had a book in her hand. I loved books both then and now, and I’m so excited to be a part of this blog!

As seems to be the trend here, I’ll start by introducing you to my own book collection – or part of it, at least. Apartment living has not afforded me much opportunity to have a dedicated library, so mine has spread all over my house. It all started with my main bookshelf in my living room, a gift made for me built by my dad when I moved into my first apartment. There’s no rhyme or reason to where my books wind up, and so I often have chicklit novels picked up for a song at the Goodwill sitting happily next to classic novels or old textbooks from college that I hang onto just in case. My office bookshelf holds more textbooks, old journals, and binders full of magazine clippings I want to hang onto.

The overflow continues down the hall, where an old bathroom shelving unit now houses novels and magazines. In the bedroom, the custom nightstand I designed and my dad built usually has a stack of books at least three high resting on top, with more tucked away in the bottom. What can I say, I love books. And not just the written word, but books themselves. I know so many people who have fallen in love with eReaders, but I can’t bear to give up the smell of the pages of a book. It’s one of my favorite things in the world.

I’m so excited to start this blogging project, and I can’t wait to share my first book review. See you then!

About Robin Sparkles

Robin Sparkles spent her formative years as a teen popstar in the great country of Canada. She went on to a successful career solving mysteries in space using her mad math skillz. Now retired, Robin can often be found at her favorite bar, Hoser Hut, with her good friend and Canadian treasure, Alan Thicke. She still dons her bedazzled jacket on special occasions. View all posts by Robin Sparkles

2 responses to “And rounding the corner in 5th…

Leave a Reply

